VAN SERVICE

9 03 2010

I am trying out this new technology… Updating my blog from my mobile phone. If it works well then I might be able to continue doing my blog. A few months back I broke my laptop computer and so had to stop doing the blog for awhile.

So… Van service…I haven’t been allowed to drive since December. The reason: I went for a sleep doctor consultation and the Dr freaked out about my questionnaire. What a prick! I simply wanted him to know my insomnia was fierce. It hadn’t occurred to me that the Dr would be able to ask the dmv to suspend my license – in the same day. No test as of this date. The Dr didn’t even care to help. He only cared to make it a massive hardship on me. It was obvious he thought I was a druggie based on my list of meds.

It’s a long process to get my license back. I’ve been very good about not driving at all. I’m on a waiting list for a new Dr’s sleep study. I want to solve this horrible insomnia.

My new list of meds is horrific. It includes methadone! (the usual med I take is levorphenol but the manufacturer is behind so I got prescribed the closest relative. The list is very long including enbrel for RA, methotrexate for Lupus/RA. And even percoset for chronic pancreatitis. There’s synthroid and metformin and so many others I’m on.. And being put back on wellbutrin. No sure I want to be on a weight gainer so may not take this one.

Point is that I found out LA has a van service you can take if they deem you disabled. I feel very lucky I passed that test. I am officially disabled. The van is about $2.25 per way. Not bad at all for door to door service!

So if you have lots of med issues like me..you might want to check out the van service in your city.

Checking out. Goodnight.
Xoxo sasha


Actions

Information

6 responses

10 06 2011
deborah murphy

Well that stinks! We can’t win for losing with these diseases! No matter what we do, we are damned if we do and damned if we don’t. I sure hope you can get your license back.

6 03 2011
Rachel

So your blog title, “Type A With R.A.” made me smile for the first time all day. SO clever. Thank you for the smile, and for making me feel not so alone in the chronic pain/huge amounts of medicines life. :)

14 12 2010
Michelle

Hey Sasha,
It’s been a long time since I’ve stopped by, here or anywhere else for that matter. I’m hitting up all of my fav chronic blogs.-I stopped writing because there was nothing good to write about, too much flaring and not enough life. I’m coming back! I hope you come back to kiddo. You’ve got a great voice in this community, and you are such a good writer, you mix life with chronic illness. It reminds me that I am not just an illness, but a whole person.
OK, I just left a blogpost in your comments section. I hope that you are doing well and your pain levels are low.
soft hugs
Michelle (life in the autoimmune lane)

1 05 2010
JoAnn

OMG! I really relate to this post, Sasha.

My PCP did the exact same thing to me. I stupidly told her about my double vision, vertigo, and narcolepsy-like episodes and she immediately said that I should not be allowed to drive and ratted me out to the DMV that very day.

I too take a million meds for my multiple autoimmune diseases and fibro and Lyme disease. :(

Well, OK….maybe I shouldn’t be driving. But I feel like I should be allowed to decide which days are bad days (no driving) and which are good days (driving allowed). Apparently not.

Thanks for your blog!

6 03 2011
Rachel

“But I feel like I should be allowed to decide which days are bad days (no driving) and which are good days (driving allowed). ”

EXACTLY! Perfect wording.
My doctor told me it was up to me if I wanted to drive. That different diseases & medicines affect different people in different ways. And you guys make me so thankful for that! I didn’t drive for a long time with the Dysautonomia, but am finally able to drive on at least a weekly basis, if the medicines aren’t doing a number on me.

29 04 2010
Annie

AHHH they took your license just like that!!

I worry about that any time I see specialty doctors, as even my current Neurologist sent a long-winded letter to my old therapist calling me out as a drug addict. Bleh.

You should come visit my blog – It’s Time To Get Over How Fragile You Are – sometime!

Annie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

