RA Pregnancy Statistic

4 05 2008

On the HealthCentral.com Website for RA it states the possible complications with RA. It has some really interesting ones, depressing ones, and then this…

Pregnancy. Women with RA have an increased risk for premature delivery. They are also three times more likely than healthy women to develop hypertension during the last trimester of pregnancy.

I would love to hear from other women with RA that have had children AFTER they were in a stage of severe RA (I was diagnosed at 35 and it is severe but i have not yet had children and have written about this non-decision in the past: Here, Here, and Here among some of them).

I am interested to know what I am in for if I decide to get pregnant. (Not that Jax and I are currently in a place to even discuss it right now – Thanks, Sasha

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 12 2010
Jenni

hi

I had a baby in 2007,I have severe RA and had lots of complications and really very poorly at the end which is possibly not what you want to read. But, I have to tell you that my little girl is so worth it. I have been in hospital many times but this time I came home with our lovely daughter.

18 09 2008
Netra

Hello- I am 33 years old and just had a boy who is now 6 weeks old. I had Hellps syndrome at 33 weeks and had an emergency c-section to deliver him. When I got home (he was in the NICU for 4 weeks but doing great now!) I was getting increasingly stiff and was eventually diagnosed with RA. I seemed to come on during the last week of my pregnancy and may have contributed to the Hellps. Seems as though the pregnancy brought on the RA.

10 07 2008
Jennifer

I just went to the Doctors and he just told me that it is hard to determine if it is my RA or not.. He suggested that i go see an OBGYN and talk to them about it and see what are my options but im 25 and i have a 3 year old so i dont think im needing any help to get pregnant…

4 07 2008
typeawithra

Are the issues with you current tries for pregnancy anything complicated by RA? I’m sure our readers would be curious to know! Thanks. -Sasha

4 07 2008
Jennifer

I just found your site and i am 25 with Ra i got it during my pregnancy 3 years ago I did not know that i had it till 3 months after giving birth. I had my daughter 2 weeks before my due date. i would like to have another child but im having trouble getting pregnant.

21 05 2008
Elena

I am new reader to your site. I’m 37 years old. I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis when I was 33. Months after I was diagnosed, I got pregnant with my first child. That pregnancy went 3 days past my due date. My second pregnancy was only two days earlier of my due date.
I’m new to blogging and these two are my articles on my two pregnancies.
http://likeliliesofthefield.blogspot.com/2008/05/pregnant-and-fat.html
http://likeliliesofthefield.blogspot.com/2008/05/pregnant-and-fit.html

21 05 2008
Libby

Here’s a good website for this:

http://www.momswithra.com

12 05 2008
Jennie

Me! I was diagnosed with RA in 2003 (after the birth of my older daughter) and I had twins last year (in 2007). My RA is severe – without meds I would be bedridden. I’m not sure what I think of that premature comment, I did deliver my twins at 29 weeks but it’s incredibly common for twins to be born early. My first pregnancy went 5 days past my due date, I did not have RA then.

I didn’t have hypertention, but I skipped all but one week of the third trimester.

Leave a Reply

