HITTING BOTTOM

25 10 2008

If I was allowed to drink then I would be plastered right now.  TOTALLY plastered.  I know… drinking doesn’t solve anything – and i can’t touch even a drop of alcohol with chronic pancreatitis.  Is drinking alcohol also bad for RA?  I never even asked the Dr because I knew I couldn’t drink anyhow.  When I was still allowed to drink i was never into soft stuff like wine.  I was in it to get drunk – I know I sound completely immature right now.  And that’s okay with me.   I’m in a truly dark and horrible place.  My RA is okay and I did see the new Rheum Dr. (known as the rheumie) and she was GREAT!  I really like this doctor.  She is at Cedars-Sinai in Los Angeles.  She didn’t do all of the anal testing which is not always a great thing, but I went in on a mission to get a new scrip for Enbrel and that’s what I got.  I’m now going to take 50mg with that “pen” rather than the 25mg twice a week with a proper needle that you jab into yourself like an old RN pro.
Why, you might be wondering am I in such a bad place?  I know this sounds retarded – i really do but this is the problem which has nothing to do with RA.  This is all about relationship issues stemming from being sick for 3 years.  BUT I’m not sick anymore.  I’m now in the “management” phase… but my whole life just fell apart in one fell swoop.

Essentially 5 weeks ago Jax broke up with me.  He said it was medical reasons.  It really wasn’t but it was a good excuse.  The real reasons?  5 year itch?  5 year flight from committment?  Not sure.  i hadn’t even realized he fell out of love with me.   Now, I had always been super independent before Jax came along.  I even liked being single most of the time.  I painted a lot and had a good network of friends.  Now, after 3 years of being sick my friends can be counted on  one hand.  Of those only 2 can be counted in my hometown.  The others live back in my college town. I had multiple clients running at once.  I had a company with employees, an awesome office, an amazing apartment, and so on.  I was my own self 100%.  i didn’t need to rely on anyone, but I leaned on my friends as they leaned on me because that’s one reason friends stay so close.

Now, after battling for my life while Jax and I lived together he just got “over it”.  He was super supportive throughout the whole ordeal, but now that I am finally feeling better… he breaks up.  Problem #1 is that many of my “friends” left when I got sick.  I know, you must be saying – then they weren’t real friends.  And I suppose they weren’t, but I really need a support team right now and I only have 2 people here to lean on.  Everyone else left when they realized I couldn’t hang out.  They took it personally no matter how much I assured them it was my diseases preventing me from going out.  And it really was.  i couldn’t be superwoman in my free time.  it had taken all I had just to get through a day of work. Problem #2 – i am still beyond upset that Jax left.  I’ve done a really good job of keeping my mouth shut in public, but once I get home I just crumble.  I know I am not the first person to go through a break-up, but this one hurts so bad.  I was totally in love with Jax.  I thought we were a great team since we went through so much together.  I hear that is common – that the couple splits once the sick person is much better.

Now I am simply a total mess.  I can’t stop crying.  I really can’t.  I’m supposed to be a very strong woman.  All my friends (I actually do have a number of friends but they live in different cities) see me as that.  I am known as strong, tough, capable of kicking ass and taking names.  But now… now I am just a lump of stupidity.  I NEVER thought I would be this upset over some guy!!! Who cares that he loved me through my worst?  I simply had hope and faith in humans  – and now i feel so duped, like it was all a show just to prove to himself that he could go through it (subconsciously).

We’d been hanging out more and more these past 7-8 days and I thought it was a good sign, but tonight I saw a woman come over to his apartment.  he lives one apartment away.  No big deal, right?! Except that he told me he was going out with his guy friend and he said if this guy didn’t call him then we’d go see a movie tonight.  We had laready spent the day togethr running errands and having a good time doing it.  I even helped him put up decorations at his new place.  I even asked him to tell me if he was going to start dating then to please let me know so i wouldn’t have to be shocked.  He agreed and said he had zero interest doing that right now.  BULLSH&*(!!  Apparently it has all been a lie.

I know I need to get back to my own life and MOVE ON.  I just don’t know how yet.  I mean, this will certainly help!! Now I have a reason to slam the door shut and not see him at all – but before it was like this odd limbo… trying to be good so he could see that i am not sick anymore. i haven’t had 1 pancreatic attack around him in months.  ive been uber-sweet so he could recall all of the good times.  BUT I had no idea it was like this.  I feel like such an idiot.  I can’t believe I’ve been so fu^%ing sweet to him since he broke up with me.  If I had known it was about a woman then I would have just moved on sooner and stopped crying ages ago.

I know I need to stop crying and buck up – put my “bootstraps on”.  To get on with my own life.  I know I need to do this.  I will no longer be sharing, kind and gentle.  I will simply snip snip snip and cut him the f&** out of my life right away.

I believe it is a woman he works with. And because of the prednisone weight i gained earlier in the year i feel like triple shit.  I am supposed to be 135 but I am 175lbs. I’ve never been fat my whole life, but I know I am now.  Plus, now I feel so ugly.   I’m going with my friend to a weight watcher’s meeting in the morning @ 730am  (it is 445am).  But I can’t even go to sleep.  i am so upset right now.  Its way too late to take a sleeping pill.

Who would ever want to be with me – even once I am healed from this experience?  the mental and physical toll of this is too much.  I simply am very unhappy being on earth right now. don’t get me wrong, I would never do something horrific, but I certainly have thought about how nice it would be to be dead finally.  none of this has killed me yet and I honestly don’t know hwy.  It should have. I mean, I might never be able to have kids.

RA, CP, a metal pump, Dr visits all the time, prescription meds all the time.  I can’t go to far for too long without needing my pump refilled or my Enrbel cold.    Maybe i’ll just walk around Hollywood and try to calm myself down.  I am very un-chill right now.

love is so confusing and messed up,  Sasha… no xoxo’stonight. sorry.

Actions

Information

One response

26 10 2008
Donna C

Sasha, You have to hang in there! The very fact that “none of this has killed” you yet, is a testament that you are one strong woman, who can stand strong even in the toughest of times. There is someone out there for you. You just have to be patient and wait for the right guy at the right time.
Don’t….No NEVER give up!
Better times are ahead for you, believe it!

Donna C

Leave a Reply

